Silesia explorer

Blog about tourist places, travelling in Upper Silesia, Poland

Welcome to the blog about Silesia region, Poland

on July 7, 2012

We are two voulunteers: Maria from Spain and Tetiana from Ukraine, who work in NGO “Bona Fides Association” in Katowice, Silesia region, Poland. Aim of our project is to promote Silesia region. We will write about all interesting places in Silesia, which are worth to visit.

We realize, that in internet you can find a lot of information about sightseeing in Silesia. And our idea of creation of this blog is to give you fresh look, personal attitude and fair assessment.

Also we thought that it could be interesting for you to read the opinion of foreigner about the country. Foreigners are not spoiled with local beauty, not bored of local landmarks, have different background and real interest.

About authors:

Tetiana  

Hi, I’m from Ukraine, Yevpatoriia – cute Black sea summer resort in the Crimea (Krym). I am 22 years now, and I work as volunteer in Poland, Katowice. And this is the best work ever – our job is to be a tourist. We travel to different cities in Silesia region and write in this blog our impressions. Hard work, isn’t it?! 🙂

I was studing Management in Kyiv – Ukrainian capital, big city, full of different people,  which changed my life greatly. I start my university when I was 16 years – it is not typical. You know, I was happy to be adult, live without parents – in 16 it is the best what life can propose you. I spent adveterous years living in student dormitory – 4 girls in one room – that is a challange definetly. I took part in events of touristic club: I was hiking in mountains, kayaking in rivers, visiting folk music festivals.

Journeys inspire me much. Sometimes I like sleeping in tent, hitchhiking and travel in crazy way. Another time I like visit museums, buy postcads, eat traditional food in restaurants and listen to street musicians. All the time I am curious in new places, try to meet local people and find in the city something what is original, new and hidden.

Last 3 years I start to  interest in work of non-governmental organizations – work of people, who try to change lifes of other people, make society more liberal and fair. I chose this volunteering, because my employer is a watch-dog organization, which by their monitoring activities pushes local goverment to work better. So I moved to Katowice, here I am, and part of my work is to write this blog.

Before my volunteering I was in Poland 2 times for trainings. Country is quite similar to Ukraine, but still I see differences. And Silesia is the great place in Poland for exploring because it has mix of cultures, you can find here and mountains and flatland, industrial districts and small authentic villages, sanctuarities and modern street art.

Maria

Hola!!!


Did you hear to speak about Spain? Red bleed run for our veins and yellow color shine with intensity in our territory.
Did you hear to speak about ” Pen of Andalucía”? It is the place more warm situated in the south of Spain. It is compose for seven provinces and one of them has a special color “SEVILLA”.  Here you have a Sevillian girl, fall in love with her earth and “flamenco” it her inspiration.

I am Maria José and I live in small village “Casariche”. We are leaders in olive, wine and jam. The “siesta” (sleep after lunch an hour; 15.30-4:30) it our tradition and “tapas” our delirium. I have been studying Environmental Science during four years in Granada. This city it is really meaningful for me and I invite you to visit it.

Being in Granada I decided to have a change in my life. I had the opportunity to study abroad and I didn´t lose it. After long time thinking about which country, my departure, family, etc, etc I had the best experience in my life and It was in a Baltic Country …Estonia!!. I was living in a medieval city, with freeze sea and with hard winter… Can you guess?? It was TALLIN. Love with their costumes, fighting with their language and travelling in the north of Europe, I can said that I will never forget this amazing year. After a year my Erasmus life finished and I had to go back to Spain. It wasn´t easy for me to get used again to my life in Spain, but I had to finish my studies.  I finished and then it was time to find some job…. but  I got??? Unfortunately not. I was teaching different subjects for kids, I was au pair.. but I didn´t want this future.

Through of my friend, I listened to talk about EVS.. what it is? European Volunteer Service! …umm interesting… my next goal. It wasn´t easy to find the country, the project which I wanted but I was completely sure that I could. After two months fill in different agreements, sending CV.. my luck came!!… Bona Fides Association accepted me and right now I am living in Katowice, Poland.  I will be volunteer for 8 months and monitoring different places in Silesia region it´s my aim. I will try to improve all possible places for foreign tourist and in this blog I will put part of my experiences.
If can help you in something… It will be a pleasure !!
Thanks

                             

5 responses to “Welcome to the blog about Silesia region, Poland

  1. It’s my first time on your blog, but I really love it! Thanks a lot for writing about Silesia, I think our small ‘country’ need that kind of promotion a lot 🙂 Best regards!

    • silesiaexplorer says:

      Thank you for your opinion. We are happy to know that you love it)))
      We realize that Silesia has big treasure, and we need to attract tourists here. That is why we do this work. You can help us. Please, give link to our blog to people, who are interested. Promoting our blog – you are promoting Silesia!

Leave a Reply

